Carrot Ginger Cashew Soup

7 Mar

This soup is rad because it has built-in protein from the cashews.  It’s a trick I learned from the Soup Nazi in NYC.  For reals!  Man-friend and I were there about eight years ago, and a) the soup was AMAZING, and b) I noticed that it had cashews in it and that cashews in soup are rad.

Start with about 5 cups of carrots, peeled and chopped into 1/2 inch chunks.  And always be on the lookout for streaker carrots.

Avert thine eyes!

Avert thine eyes!

Chop about 4 inches of ginger.  Leave the skin on cuz that’s where all the tasty lives.  Also chop one onion, and 3 cloves of garlick.  Toss those all together in your very fabulous Le Creuset soup pot.

Should I maybe just change my name to Ginger?  Sure as hell beats Carrot.

Should I maybe just change my name to Ginger? Sure as hell beats Carrot.

Add Le Stock, about 2 cups.  Boil until everything’s mushy.

Mr. Sulu, set coordinates for....SOUP.

Mr. Sulu, set coordinates for....SOUP.

Once everything is mushy, add the SECRET INGREDIENT.

Which is possibly not so secret since I revealed it in the title of this post.  It’s cashews.

Wonder if I can one of those awesome spy poison rings that's big enough to accommodate cashews.  I would go around sprinkling cashews on EVERYTHING.  Mwahahahaha....

Wonder if I can one of those awesome spy poison rings that's big enough to accommodate cashews. I would go around sprinkling cashews on EVERYTHING. Mwahahahaha....

Let the cashews cook for about 15 minutes.  Then add yer salt & pepper.  Aaaand finally, get out Ye Olde Immersion Blender, maybe add some veg stock if things are a little too thick.  Sometimes the cashews just suck up a ton of liquid.

Bzzzzzzzzz

Bzzzzzzzzz

Ta-da!  It’s soup!

"Soup" is so pedestrian.  Let's call is "puree of carrots, legumes, and fragrant roots".  That'll be $34.

"Soup" is so pedestrian. Let's call is "puree of carrots, legumes, and fragrant roots". That'll be $34.

2 Responses to “Carrot Ginger Cashew Soup”

  1. Anthony March 7, 2011 at 9:29 pm #

    WOW! I saw so many gingers! I kind of like the idea to use the blender to make it more like a puree. Nice job!
    For more soup recipes, check at:
    http://www.fourgreensteps.com/community/recipes
    Hope you find out recipes that you wanna give a try!

Leave a Reply

