Apple Ginger Galette

9 Apr

I’m not big on baking.  I’m also not big on taking something healthy, like apples, and encrusting it in white flour and butter.  But sometimes I like to flirt with the dark side, and this apple galette is aaaaall dark side.

Anyway, I just had way too many apples accumulating in my crisper over the weeks.  The recipe is straight from Smitten Kitchen, and her recipe is derivative from Alice Waters, who is my hero. See the recipe here.

Start with awesome local apples.  I used Empire and Mutsu.  I think.

The Apples of Evil...mwahahahaaa

The Apples of Evil...mwahahahaaa

Peel them, core them, slice them into chunks like this:

Presto, change-o.

Presto, change-o.

Make the galette dough, which is just flour, butter, and like 3 tablespoons of water.  Let the dough sit in the fridge for about 30 minutes, then take it out and roll it.

For the filling, it’s just sliced apples, like an inch of grated ginger, sugar and melted butter.

Oh, guess what.  I don't have a rolling pin, so I had to roll the dough using a tomato can.  Hilariousness ensued.

Oh, guess what. I don't have a rolling pin, so I had to roll the dough using a tomato can. Hilariousness ensued.

I like how rustic and un-precious this format is.

I like how rustic and un-precious this format is.

Fold up all the uneven sides.  Brush some melted butter over the top.  Sprinkle the whole thing with sugar.

Bake at 400 degrees F for 45ish minutes.  There’s also a glaze you can make using the apple cores and peels, but it didn’t work for me.  Too soupy.  Maybe I got the proportions wrong.

NOM

NOM

Moments later…

I can't believe there were leftovers.  I mean, it was just the two of us.  But really!  We COULD have decimated that thing.

I can't believe there were leftovers. I mean, it was just the two of us. But really! We COULD have decimated that thing.

Leave a Reply

